Do Social Media Personalities Create Sales

Posted on September 28, 2010

2



As much as we would all like (to like) you just for you (in your business sense), online exposes as much about our personality as it would if you were a private friend. We get to know each other quite well!! So have a think about your personal circle of friends and consider who you attract, then consider…
.
Would you buy from them? As in buy what they suggest. even when you didnt personally know them? would you? Have you?
.
to be upfront I attract strong, very social personalities, who are business owners, professionals, wine lovers, life lovers, relaxed, opinionated, dedicated and committed individuals. no doubt about it. We share all sorts of stuff.
.
I have really good online friends like this – as much as I have offline. In that – I have many friendships but there’s no way I have met them all.
.
So, do I buy or listen to people who arent in my close circle of friends and I only know from online?

.
Note: one can only summise that we are attracted online to the people who we would normally be attracted to in our offline or personal private circle.
.
Interesting concept.
.
What does this mean to a company asking for brand endorsement online via a social media person? Does it mean anything? Does it have to? I’d love to hear others opinions in relation to this. I’m NOT talking about an existing offline brand that promtes as a brand or a scenario where a “personality” promotes a brand, I’m talking about “charlie regular social media person with followers” (me) being able to endorse brands. Do you think it’s a possible thing to do? Is a social media person able to become a personality and promote a brand? Or will they loose credibility?
.
The pondering has come about because i have been offered a few “affiliate marketing” opportunities recently – and believe me you will know what they are when and if they start, so dont panic – however it has made me sit back and think “would people, followers, and friends align with the “charlie regular social media person with followers” to the point that we could actually sell something?
.
What do you think? Wanky or a good thing. I’d love your opinion.

-charlie

Posted in: Opinion, Social Media